Although there’s no longer a federal penalty for not having health insurance, the State of California is about to impose it’s own. Starting January 1st, Californians will be required to buy insurance. Anyone who doesn’t have coverage will be subject to a minimum penalty of $695 per adult and $347 per child. The penalty will be added to the 2020 tax year and be paid in 2021. Subsidies are available for some people who apply through Covered California. The new subsidies could begin on January 1st for those who apply by December 15th. More information is available from Medi-Cal at 877-652-0731 or by visiting one of the 5 Shasta County Health and Human Services Agency Offices in Redding, Anderson, Shasta Lake and Burney.